Roman Emperors

Explanation

From the time of Augustus, Rome was ruled by emperors. The manner of their accession to imperial power varied. Some were selected by the Senate, others by the imperial guard, others as a result of revolution, many with the support of one or another faction of the military. Day-to-day governance was accomplished with the assistance of the Senate and an ever-increasing imperial bureaucracy. Usually individual emperors ruled, but on occasion two colleagues governed together, or, as under Diocletian, a college of four emperors. Some reigns were of long duration, others of only a few weeks, as in the calamitous year 69. The chart lists emperors and the dates of their reigns, from Augustus to Constantine, concurrent with the first three centuries of Christian history.

References

Chris Scarre, *Chronicle of the Roman Emperors* (London: Thames & Hudson, 1995). M. Cary and H. H. Scullard, *A History of Rome* (New York: St. Martin's, 1975).

Roman Emperors

Emperor	Reign (A.D.)	Emperor	Reign (A.D.)
Augustus	27 B.C.–A.D. 14	Maximinus	235–238
Tiberius	14–37	Gordian I Gordian II	238 238
Caligula	37–41		
Claudius	41–54	Balbinus Pupienus	238 238
Nero	54–68	Gordian III	238–244
Galba	68–69	Philip	244–249
Otho	69		
Vitellius	69	Decius	249–251
Vespasian	69–70	Trebonianus	251–253
Titus	79–81	Aemilianus	253
Domitian	81–96	Valerianus Gallienus	253–260 253–268
Nerva	96–98	Claudius Gothicus	268–270
Trajan	98–117	Aurelian	270–275
Hadrian	117–138	Tacitus	275–276
Antoninus Pius	138–161		
Marcus Aurelius Lucius Verus	161–180 161–169	Florianus Probus	276 276–282
Commodus	180–192	Carus	282–283
Pertinax	193	Carinus Numerianus	283–285 283–284
Didius Julianus	193		
Septimius Severus	193–211	Diocletian Maximian	284–305 286–305
Caracalla Geta	211–217 211–217	Constantius	292–306
Macrinus	217–218	Galerius	293–311
Elagabulus	218–222	Licinius	311–323
Severus Alexander	222–235	Constantine	306–337